Interview with Author Perry Prete

I had the great honour of doing an interview with an author that did a darker style of story.  Previously I launched my review of this book.

1. I read your short story collection, what was the inspiration for each of those stories?

It all started with a dream. I seldom recall dreams, but this one particular dream was pretty vivid. The segment was only a flash, and I built the entire story around it. The others were based on fears that friends told me about. Overall, I listen to people to tell me what scares them, and write the stories around loose ideas.

2. Who would you say most influenced your writing style and why?

I have a very unique style. I write in the first and third person in the same story, and can get pretty descriptive. Not everyone likes that. I can’t really say who influenced me, but I write as if I were describing a movie scene.

3. What advice would you provide to an aspiring author?

If you want to write, write. It doesn’t matter if your writing style is not mainstream; so be it. Write for the fringe. If you enjoy writing, even if the only person who gets to see it is you, write it. You will look back on it in years to come and smile.

4. If you could co-write with any one person who would it be and why?

Again, if I had to pick only one person, it wouldn’t matter if it was only a menu, it would be Stephen King. If I had a second choice, well, that is for another time.

5. What other books have you written and are they novels or short stories?

I’ve written three full length mystery novels with a paramedic, Ethan Tennant, as the main character. The fourth novel in the series is almost complete. I will then be working on another horror novel, a fantasy, and another Ethan Tennant novel. 

6.  When was your first published work done?

That’s funny, because my first work was completed for quite some time before it was published. My first book, “All Good Things,” was completed in 2009. It sat as a file in my computer until I decided to shop it around. It was published in 2011. 

7.  Of all the characters you have written about who is your favourite character and why?  This could also be who is your favourite hero and who is the favourite villain you have wrote?

I can’t give too much away, but I loved the female lead character in Social Studies. It was fun to write about her, and how she can affect change. I don’t want to make this a Spoiler Alert. Sorry. 

8. What book is your favourite that you have written or story?

My favourite story would have to be the next one I’ll be writing. I always enjoy the ones I’m writing more than the ones I’ve completed. If I had to pick one book, it would be “Highway 7.” It was the most fun to write. 

9. What is one phrase that would best describe you?

You’re putting me on the spot. How about, “A ten-year-old trapped in the body of an adult screaming to get out.”

10. Pleasure reading, what would be your go to genre and why?

It depends on my mood, but I stick to mystery and horror. 

11.  Who is your favourite author?

For mystery novels, Kathy Reichs. Stephen King has inspired a generation of fans; I was one of them.

Leave a Reply

