Interview with Angie Smith

Today I have the very great pleasure to interview Angie Smith who is the author of one of the best new trilogies that I have read.  CVXI series is a great read and one I had thr privalege to read as an ARC

I wish to thank Angie for her time as well as for her wonderful answers.

Firstly Sean, I’d like to thank you for asking me to be interviewed for your blog. I am very honoured to answer your excellent questions. Fingers crossed I have provided some interesting answers.

If you could write another genre of book what would it be and why?

I really like psychological thrillers, the darker the better – particularly those which have you on the edge of your seat, and stay with the reader. So maybe this would be the genre for me to consider in the future.

If you could co-write with any author who would it be and why?

Mmm. This is such a difficult question for me. The trouble is I don’t really think — as much as I admire many authors — that I could actually work with anyone else.  I prefer to have total control over what I am writing, not that I am a megalomaniac, I just am more comfortable if I am in charge.

Which Hero was your favourite to write about?

This is a bit like flipping a coin; is it Barnes, or is it Woods? They are both strong characters, each with their own particular traits. I’ve looked through the reviews, and many of the comments I have received would suggest that readers prefer Maria Barnes. I fully understand this, in reality she became part of my life two years ago and is very much at the centre of the trilogy. However, my loyalties lie with Woods; after being at the pinnacle of his career, he finds himself working with someone younger, more talented and even more skilful than himself, yet he is energised by this and embraces the challenge.

Which Villain was your favourite to write about?

I suppose in a way, and many people have commented about this, it’s hard to distinguish between the good and bad guys. Nevertheless, Faulkner-Brown has to be one of my favourites. I love the way he irritates virtually everyone he meets, and I love the interaction between him and Barned. He knows exactly which buttons to press.

What inspired you to become an author?

I’ve always been an avid reader and often thought that one day I’d attempt to write. I wrote reports and research articles in my former day job but felt so limited and stifled in how I could express myself. Being diagnosed with breast cancer in 2013 prompted me to examine my ambitions in life and make creative writing a reality. The rest, as they say, is history!

What is your favourite novel you have read?

Yet again, a really good question. I have read so many great books. My answer today might be different tomorrow! However, I suppose the strong contenders are: Cherry-Garrard’s The Worst Journey in the World, (I loved the way they overcame enormous challenges in such desperate conditions). Frederick Forsyth’s The Devil’s Alternative (it took me a while to get into this book, but once I was hooked I relished every page), and finally, Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Trilogy (a fantastic trilogy with a strong female lead character – is this sounding familiar?).

If you could write a fan-fiction on anyone else’s work what would it be?

I’m a fan of so many works, and take inspiration from so many different people, for example The Bridge (the Danish/Swedish TV series) created and written by Hans Rosenfeldt. If I could write fan-fiction, I think this is the one I would chose.

If you could choose one actor to play the role of one of you characters who would it be and why?

This is a fantastic question! I think Tim Huddleston would make an excellent Jonathan Plant – in The Night Manager he exudes everything I wanted the character of Plant to be. Now, here’s a little insight – when writing about Woods I always visualized Morten Suurballe, the Danish actor, who played Chief Inspector Lennart Brix in The Killing.

If you could choose one person to read on an audible book who would it be and why?

Coincidentally I am just starting to think about having the books developed into audible versions, so this is a timely question.  I love his husky, captivating and expressive voices, therefore Tom Baker would be an excellent choice.

As a self published author can you tell me what has been your greatest success?

Actually, finishing the trilogy has to be at the top of my list. But, oh boy, I wasn’t prepared for everything that comes after “The End”.  Dealing with all the formatting issues, the learning how to use Amazon KDP (publishing desktop), Createspace (paperback publisher), the marketing and social media commitments and attending events. It has all been a challenge to say the least. Something about Everest…

What impact do reviewers and bloggers have for self published authors?

I feel tremendously indebted to many reviewers and bloggers. Without them it is possible that the trilogy may have remained unseen, because they spread the word and have a great impact on visibility.

Do you have any advice for any people who wish to become an author?

It takes skill to craft a story so spend time reading, and studying and really absorbing how the best-selling authors in your genre put stories together. Don’t be deterred by the enormity of the task facing you, because once you commence writing and the words start to flow, it’s not as difficult as you might imagine. A word of advice though, don’t make the mistake I made, if you are writing a trilogy be sure to finish all three books before publishing them. If readers loved the first book they will want the second and subsequent one immediately. A lesson well learned by me.

One thought on “Interview with Angie Smith”

Leave a Reply

