Interview with Graham Smith 

Today I am going to share an interview I did with author Graham Smith an author publisher by Bloodhound Books.

  • If you could write another genre of book what would it be and why?

I think it would have to be some kind of dsytopian novel as I like the idea of writing without boundaries. I would though, probably make a terrible hash of it as crime and thrillers are all I read and therefore have experience of.

  • If you could co-write with any author who would it be and why?

I’d choose Dan Brown so I could hopefully stop all his mistakes spoiling what are essentially great stories.

  • Which Hero was your favourite to write about?

What a horrible question. That’s like asking which of my children is my favourite. I’m going to say Jake Boulder because that’s who I’m currently writing.

  • Which Villain was your favourite to write about?

I loved writing about The Watcher in Watching the Bodies. He whole thought processes were fun to invent and I gave him his own twisted code as well as some unusual methods.

  • What inspired you to become an author?

After tossing yet another book across the room and muttering “I could do better than this *&%^£” it became time for me to put my money where my mouth is.

  • What is your favourite novel that you have written?

I’m going to cop out here and say When the Waters Recede as it’s the last one I completed and I’d like to think it was the easiest to write and also the best as I’ve learned with each novel I’ve written.

  • What is your favourite novel you have read?

HMS Ulysses by Alistair MacLean as it’s the perfect mix of pace, plot and character as well as having a great setting.

  • If you could write a fan-fiction on anyone else’s work what would it be?

I’m not sure I could bring myself to inflict my own style onto someone else’s characters. If you put a gun to my head, I’d say Craig Russell’s Lennox series as I learned so much about writing from reading those books. (Even if you’re not a writer, I’d heartily recommend reading them.)

  • If you could choose one actor to play the role of one of you characters who would it be and why?

I’d have to choose Gerard Butler to play Jake Boulder as he’s got the right mix of bad boy, Scottishness and smouldering appeal to fit my vision of him.

Graham Smith is married with a young son. A time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since Christmas 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer and interviewer for the well-respected website Crimesquad.com since 2009

He is the author of four books featuring DI harry Evans and the Cumbrian Major Crimes Team.

Leave a Reply

